Menu
IC 1396 and the Elephant's Trunk Nebula

IC 1396 and the Elephant’s Trunk Nebula

This is a fairly well known HII region in Cephea, an ionized hydrogen region. IC 1396 designates an open star cluster consisting of a few bright stars in the center of the large red nebula. The Elephant Trunk is a dark area in the nebula at the center and a little to the left of the image that vaguely resembles the pachyderm member. His official number is IC 1396A.

Finally, my Nikon Z6 is operational on the deep sky imagery. I removed his IR-Cut filter that allows the adjustment of the white balance for “normal” photos. This unfiltering gave me a hard time. It has two filters: a blue-green one that filters the infrared and a good part of visible red including the wavelength of ionized hydrogen H-Alpha, and a dust filter. Once these filters removed, I end up with a big internal light input on the sensor. I had to decide for a partial unfiltering by putting back the dust filter. Fortunately the disassembly of the camera and relatively easy.

In term of sensitivity, I’m not disappointed. The exposure time speaks for itself since I did poses of 1 minutes whereas it would have taken poses of 10 minutes with my old Canon EOS 1000D. The more we do poses, the more we reduce the noise. So I made 80 and it took only half of the night!

80 exposures of 1 minute
Camera : Nikon Z6 partially unfiltered

Telescope : Takahashi FSQ-106ED refractor.
Mount : Takahashi EM-200 homemade electronics.
Guiding : Orion Starshoot Autoguider on a William Optic Zenithstar 66SD refractor.
Temperature : 10°C
Humidity : 80% to 84%
SQM : 21.6
Software : auto-guiding with PHD2, acquisition with Astro Photography Tool, processing with PixInsight.
Location : L’Epine, Hautes-Alpes, France

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Menu
IC 1396 et La Nébuleuse de la Trompe d'Elephant

IC 1396 et La Nébuleuse de la Trompe d’Elephant

C’est une region HII assez connue dans Céphée, une region d’hydrogène ionisé. IC 1396 désigne un amas ouvert d’étoile composé des quelques étoiles brillantes au centre de la grande nébuleuse rouge. La Trompe d’Elephant est une zone sombre dans la nébuleuse au centre et un peu a gauche de l’image qui ressemble vaguement au membre du pachyderme. Son matricule officiel est IC 1396A.

Enfin, mon Nikon Z6 est opérationnel sur le ciel profond. Je lui ai retiré son filtre IR-Cut qui permet d’ajuster la balance des blancs pour de la photo « normal ». Ce défiltrage m’a donné du fils a retordre. Il a deux filtres : un bleu-vert qui filtre les infrarouges et une bonne partie du rouge visible dont la longueur d’onde de l’hydrogène ionisé H-Alpha et un filtre anti-poussière. Une fois ces filtres retiré, je me retrouve avec une grosse entrée de lumière interne sur la capteur. J’ai du me résoudre à un défiltrage partiel en remettant le filtre anti-poussière. Heureusement le démontage du boitier et relativement facile.

Côté sensibilité, je ne suis pas déçu. Le temps de pose de lui même puisque j’ai fait des pose de 1 minutes alors qu’il aurais fallu des poses de 10 minutes avec mon ancien Canon EOS 1000D. Plus on fait de poses plus on réduit le bruit. J’en ai donc fait 80 et ça n’a pris que la moitié de la nuit !

80 poses de 1 minutes
Nikon Z6 défiltré partiel

Lunette Takahashi FSQ-106ED.
Monture Takahashi EM-200 électronique fait maison.
Guidage : Orion Starshoot Autoguider sur lunette William Optic Zenithstar 66SD.
Température : 10°C
Humidité : 80% à 84%
SQM : 21.6
Logiciels : auto-guidage avec PHD2, acquisitions avec Astro Photography Tool, traitement avec PixInsight.
Site : L’Epine, Hautes-Alpes, France

Laisser un commentaire

Votre adresse de messagerie ne sera pas publiée. Les champs obligatoires sont indiqués avec *

Ce site utilise Akismet pour réduire les indésirables. En savoir plus sur comment les données de vos commentaires sont utilisées.